Story #4: The Canadian Construction Association Welcomes Francis Roy as Chair for Upcoming 2024-26 Term

The Canadian Construction Association (CCA) announced that Francis Roy has been appointed Chair of the 2024-26 Board of Directors. Roy succeeds outgoing Board Chair, Brendan Nobes, who led the association for two years, advancing strategic partnerships and national advocacy. 

A 30-year veteran of the industry, Roy is president and CEO of Groupe Humaco companies, considered a vital employer in the Quebec construction industry.

Roy began his career in 1994 as an estimator and project manager at Les Gypses Promark Québec Inc. Having gained experience and a passion for the construction industry, he soon took on the position of vice president and general manager at ITR Drywall Inc.

Today, Roy oversees the activities of his companies at Groupe Humaco Inc., including several branches such as drywall, general contracting, real estate development and construction technologies. With more than 200 projects annually, Groupe Humaco deploys expertise and high-quality standards to build complex large-scale projects, from hospital centres and high-rise office buildings to public service complexes and multi-residential buildings.

The architectural technology graduate is active in several industry associations. He has been a dedicated member of CCA’s Board of Directors and served as past-Chair of the Association de la Construction du Quebec (ACQ).

In his address to members at CCA’s Annual General Meeting, Roy articulated his focus for the association over the next year. 

“My primary goal will be to support a healthy environment where communication is encouraged and valued so that everyone can contribute meaningfully to the achievement of our association’s strategic objectives,” he said. “I firmly believe in the power of collaboration, engagement, and innovation.”

Joining Roy on CCA’s 2024-25 Board of Directors are:

  • Trevor Doucette (Vice-Chair), senior director, operations, Synergy Group of Companies (Alta.)
  • David Bowcott, managing director and co-leader, NFP Construction & Infrastructure (Ont.)
  • Derek Brown, project manager, Cahill Group (N.L.)
  • Charles Caza, executive vice president and chief legal officer, Bird Construction (Ont.)
  • Nicole Chabot, vice president, L. Chabot Enterprises Ltd (Man.)
  • Steve Drummond, president, Capilano Highway Services Company (B.C.)
  • Frank Faieta, national vice president, Surety Risk Management, Trisura Guarantee Insurance Company (Ont.)
  • Wayne Ferguson, senior vice president and area manager, EllisDon Corporation (Ont.)
  • Eric Gaulin, vice president, Operations Building – Ontario, EBC (Que.)
  • Peter Grose, president and CEO, Westland Construction (Man.)
  • Quentin Huillery, chief operating officer, Ledcor (Alta.)
  • John Mollenhauer, president and CEO, Toronto Construction Association (Ont.)
  • Christina O’Donnell, vice president and general counsel, Black & McDonald (Ont.)
  • Cory Richter, president and CEO, Quorex Construction (Sask.)
  • Sam Sanderson, general manager, Construction Association of P.E.I. (P.E.I.)
  • Amber Sandhu, regional underwriting officer, national accounts surety, Travelers Canada (Ont.)
  • Brad Scott, vice president, finance, Basin Contracting Limited (N.S.)
  • Ajay Sharma, project development engineer, GeoStabilization International (Alta.)
  • Rick Wagner, president, Maxwell Floors Ltd. (B.C.)